· Newest Member: mgjsports77
Member Poll
There are no polls defined.
View Thread
 Print Thread
Confused with Directions
John B
Hello,

I've been enjoying Downey Games for years, but this is my first time purchasing a Player of the Game line of games, ... and I'm horribly confused. I haven't felt this frustrated with a game's instructions in decades.

Can anyone offer up some kind advice on how to figure out the game's directions? In particular, figuring out which serve to use and whether the number tells me the server or receiver won the point has me confused. And for modifying the serve return? Is the number on the second column for first and second serves supposed to be the number that I use to modify the opponent's RET 1 and RET 2 values?

I feel like I'm reading something that tells me that a first serve number is the receiver's point, because Cats don't wear plaid on Sundays.

Any help would really be appreciated.

And thanks for your time.

DaveP
I can run through a few sample games later today. Pretty sure I had the same reaction my first few tries. Much easier than it appears at first glance.

John B
Thanks DaveP! I'd really appreciate that.

Meanwhile, I'll keep trying to figure out the procedure from over here. I think you're right, though. Once I give it a few tries, I should be fine. I'm just pretty hazy on what the proper procedure IS, at this point. Thanks again!

John B
Edited by John B on 02/25/2020

DaveP
You are correct about the return modifier number.

Ok, here we go...

1991 set, John McEnroe vs. Pete Sampras, on a hard surface.

McEnroe serves first, he rolls a 78. His WIN rating (meaning an automatic win, no return by his opponent) is 5, no win. so he moves to his 1st serve rating, which is a 58. 78 is greater than 58, so it's a second serve.

Now a roll for Sampras, on his RET 2 rating, which is 50 or under (his 51 rating combined with McEnroe's -1 2nd serve return modifier). He rolls 74, too bad, McEnroe takes the first game.